Ground Fault Indicator

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

malteselady

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Posts
7
Location
Alabama
Last weekend I was at a dog show and the electrical plug next to my microwave stopped working.  I saw the little sign saying that plug had a Ground Fault Indicator and thanks to your excellent Library I now know that means the plug will be disconnected if water gets to it - which is possible because I made a mistake probably no other newbees make  ;D I had left the faucet open when I winterized it and forgot to shut if off before hooking up at the site and had water spraying all over when I came inside as the faucet was going full blast onto the counter top.  If you are laughing out there I bet you've done it too.  Frankly in my year of RVing I've learned that every trip is a learning experience with a new "adventure" just around the corner.

Anyway, my question now is, how do I get the plug to work again????  I checked all the fuses and none of them are bad???  The area is now dry and has been for days.  Thanks for any info.
 

Ned

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Posts
25,107
Location
USA
The outlet marked Ground Fault Interrupter will have 2 square buttons on it, one marked Reset and one marked Test.  Press the Reset button in until it clicks and power will be restored.
 

Karl

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Mar 3, 2005
Posts
5,154
Location
Elkhart Lake, WI for the summer. Work at Road Amer
I now know that means the plug will be disconnected if water gets to it
In fact, it does much more than that. It senses any imbalance in current at any appliance connected to it, preventing serious shocks... or worse. One GFCI outlet can protect several other outlets in your coach, so you may lose power at an outlet in the front of the coach when the GFCI in the kitchen area has tripped. Make sure you know where they are located so you don't have to spend a lot of time finding it(them).
 

malteselady

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Posts
7
Location
Alabama
Wow, instant answers - almost ???  I went and looked and I didn't see any reset buttons on the outside of the outlet.  Do I have to take the plate off the outlet to reset it??  If so what is the secret to doing that as I previously tried to take off one of the plates and they seem to be built onto the plug.  I can undo the screws but the outlet won't come down out of the hole and I can't get to it from above in the cabint because of the shelf.  Please don't laugh I'm a pretty smart lady but my hubby used to do all this type stuff so I'm having to learn some new skills.  Thanks a million!!
 

Ron

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Posts
18,082
Location
Home is where we park it
The GFI outlet that is controlling the outlet that does not work could be in the bathroom.  Look for an outlet that has two buttons between the double plugs and push the reset button.  Removal of the cover is not required to reset.
 

caltex

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 14, 2005
Posts
731
Location
North Texas/Northern California
Debbie, just so you don't feel all alone, I have done exactly the same thing.  Leaving the faucet open and the sink cover in place really makes a mess. I have only done that once.
 

malteselady

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Posts
7
Location
Alabama
Thanks Ron it was indeed in the bathroom and the power has been restored.  I'll watch to see if it happens again to try and figure out why.

Cal you made me feel better and I won't do it but once either.
 
Top Bottom