half-ton towable

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

adouty

Hi all!  Another newbie here and would like some advice on what to buy.  We live in MN so mountains aren't an issue.  We looked at several brands(Coachmen, Flaggstaff, Springdale, Dutchman, Wildwood, etc.)  My wife and I are looking for a bunkhouse model(3kids).  We have a 03 Dodge Quad with the Hemi.  Any advice would be great, thanks. :)

Adouty,

There are number of bunkhouse models that will probably work for you.  Perhaps the first thing you should do is load up the wife and kids into the truck and go get it weighed.  Your actual truck weight along with the information available from "Trailer Life" will tell you how much trailer weight you can handle, both in term of Gross Combined Vehicle Weight and the how much tongue weight you can still carry.  Expect to add close to 1000 lbs or more to a trailers "dry weight" by the time you add food, water, blankets, cookware , etc, etc.  If you find a trailer you like, it would be a good idea to get an actual trailer weight if possible before you purchase it.  There are a lot of great models out there, take you time to lookaround.
Jake

My wife and I are looking for a bunkhouse model(3kids).  We have a 03 Dodge Quad with the Hemi.  Any advice would be great, thanks.

The first thing is to figure what your truck can haul in terms of trailer weight.  Do that before you all fall in love with a particular unit. 

Exactly which Dodge is that:  1500, 2500, or 3500?    I assume the engine is the 5.9L, right?  4WD?  Rear end ratio?.

Well, he said "half ton" in the subject so he is probably talking about the Ram 1500 Quad cab and the "Hemi" engine is indeed the 5.7L gas V8.