Hooking up Electric at Home

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BigCasinoGA

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Posts
6
I take my motorhome to use as a spare bedroom at my lakehouse, and I hook it up to the household current.  Motorhome has 30 AMP service (1991 Fleetwood Southwind) and the A/C seems to operate poorly in these conditions, and on low setting trips a breaker occassionally.

Is there a device available to turn the 20 AMP household service into a 30 AMP service, or does this require a wiring update at the home.  If there is a device, please tell me where to find, and if anyone has used one before.

Thanks.  Bill
 

Tom

Administrator
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Posts
48,840
Adding a 30A receptacle to existing 20A wiring and hoping to draw 30A is not a good idea. You need to upgrade the wiring (increase size) in addition to changing the breaker.
 

Carl L

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Posts
7,239
Location
west Los Angeles
Like Tom says, you can connect to 20 amp circuits, but you are not going to get 30 amps out of it.    Hire a licensed electrician to run you a 30 amp circuit to a post for your RV.
 

Ron

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Posts
18,082
Location
Home is where we park it
Tom & Carl are both absolutely correct.  You can't get 30 amps out of a 20 amp service.  Hire a professional to install the necessary wiring and outlet.  Attempting this without the proper knowledge and skill can be hazardous to ones well being.
 

Lowell

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Posts
2,221
Location
Tempe, AZ
If I recall correctly, it cost me about $50 in parts to set-up a 30 amp hook-up at home.  My brother-in-law is an an electrician so the labor was free. The cost covered an outside receptacle box, new breaker, conduit and wiring. Boy that solid wire is hard to pull! The next time I'll buy twisted wire.
Jake
 
Top Bottom