I am still in May, FL?????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ex-Calif

Well-known member
Joined
May 15, 2020
Posts
3,077
Location
NorthCentral Florida
Whack a Mole...

Your computer travels more than you do.

Tom - From a troubleshooting perspective you keep generically saying "My computer thinks..."

Well you and I know that computers don't think (yet) and we all agree there are multiple programs on our computers that use location services.

If you really want to end this problem you have to get extremely specific about what program(s) are setting the incorrect error and then start investigating why - Cookies, registrar settings, non volatile ram, program settings etc.

Computers also have a ton of variables and you have to knock out the variables one at a time.

BTW - Your computer travels way more than you do - LOL...
 

Old_Crow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Posts
3,257
Location
Tom's Place, California
Whack a Mole...

Your computer travels more than you do.

Tom - From a troubleshooting perspective you keep generically saying "My computer thinks..."

Well you and I know that computers don't think (yet) and we all agree there are multiple programs on our computers that use location services.

If you really want to end this problem you have to get extremely specific about what program(s) are setting the incorrect error and then start investigating why - Cookies, registrar settings, non volatile ram, program settings etc.

Computers also have a ton of variables and you have to knock out the variables one at a time.

BTW - Your computer travels way more than you do - LOL...

It's a good thing he doesn't have to pay for the gas for all that travel.

Using Windows 11 and the Edge browser, every time I bring up the Accuweather web site it takes me to Tempe, AZ, no matter how many times I re-set the location. Google maps usually locates me in Oakdale, CA, which is totally on the other side of the Sierras from where we are now. Also, the nearest Home Depot is apparently in Fresno, except that currently I'd have to go through Bakersfield to get there. That might change next week if Tioga Pass opens.
 

DonTom

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Posts
7,113
Location
Auburn, CA or Reno, NV
If you really want to end this problem you have to get extremely specific about what program(s) are setting the incorrect error and then start investigating why - Cookies, registrar settings, non volatile ram, program settings etc.
I have done all that already. When it changes, everything changes as if the computer is in that location and it often changes to the actual location even though I have not done anything.

Right now, my computer is right here at Tom's Place. But I have no doubt it will be in Reno again any minute without me changing or doing anything.

At least it stayed on Reno when I was logged onto Old_Crow's satellite system when I showed him what this computer was doing.

-Don- Tom's Place, CA
 

Ex-Calif

Well-known member
Joined
May 15, 2020
Posts
3,077
Location
NorthCentral Florida
I have done all that already. When it changes, everything changes as if the computer is in that location and it often changes to the actual location even though I have not done anything.

Right now, my computer is right here at Tom's Place. But I have no doubt it will be in Reno again any minute without me changing or doing anything.

At least it stayed on Reno when I was logged onto Old_Crow's satellite system when I showed him what this computer was doing.

-Don- Tom's Place, CA
What specific programs are reporting locations and are they all reporting the same location at the same time.

This can determine if it is a system level problem or a program level problem.

I'd be willing to bet that at this point it is a Windows service that is messed up in the registry and or two services conflicting. Specifically network location awareness and/or geolocation services.

I'd further bet that a windows restoration/reinstall would fix the problem.
 

DonTom

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Posts
7,113
Location
Auburn, CA or Reno, NV
What specific programs are reporting locations and are they all reporting the same location at the same time.

This can determine if it is a system level problem or a program level problem.

I'd be willing to bet that at this point it is a Windows service that is messed up in the registry and or two services conflicting. Specifically network location awareness and/or geolocation services.

I'd further bet that a windows restoration/reinstall would fix the problem.
Could be, but how can a computer without a GPS determine the location if it's not using the internet connection?

I do not recall having this issue before I upgraded from Win10 to Win11, so perhaps that has something to do with it.

Yes, the entire computer all shows the same locations at the same time, regardless is correct or incorrect at that time. That includes maps on the computer as well as maps not on the computer that are on the web. Also includes weather when the locator is used, or even a store locator for any store is used.

-Don- Reno, NV
 

DonTom

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Posts
7,113
Location
Auburn, CA or Reno, NV
Right now, I am at a fast-food restaurant using the same notebook computer, two miles from my house.

It now shows my location exactly spot on, two miles from my house. And has not changed from being spot on since I have been in Reno.

Here, I have 5 bars of 5G, but I doubt that has anything to do with it.

-Don- Reno, NV
 

DonTom

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Posts
7,113
Location
Auburn, CA or Reno, NV
Likewise, I have not had the issue on that same computer and Verizon connection while here in Auburn. It's been spot on every time I check.

-Don- Auburn, CA
 
Top Bottom