inverter RFI hash in ham radio

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

K4ZZR

I have Fleetwood Bounder 33C motor home with a 4000 watt inverter. When it's in use, it creates a lot of RFI hash in my HF radio (I'm a ham radio operator). The cables going in and out of the inverter are too big to put any ferrite beads on them. Just wondering if anyone has found a solution that might help reduce the noise (other than not using the inverter)?

Thanks,
David, K4ZZR

When I was installing broadcast transmitters, the manufacturer provided ferrite toroid rings for all wires and cables entering or leaving the transmitter cabinet, including the AC power leads and the 3 1/2 inch coaxial transmission line.  So large ferrite cores do exist.

You could try passing both of the power leads through something like this, as close to the inverter as you can get it.  Pass both leads through the ferrite so the DC magnetic fields cancel each other out.  The magnetic field around a single high current DC line can saturate and overheat the ferrite.

https://www.jpmsupply.com/Toroid-Core-FT240-43-Ferrite-p/38021.htm?click=2

Twisting the power leads together will also help cancel out common mode AC noise.

K4ZZR said:
I have Fleetwood Bounder 33C motor home with a 4000 watt inverter. When it's in use, it creates a lot of RFI hash in my HF radio (I'm a ham radio operator). The cables going in and out of the inverter are too big to put any ferrite beads on them. Just wondering if anyone has found a solution that might help reduce the noise (other than not using the inverter)?

Thanks,
David, K4ZZR
I would expect QRN from any inverter. I find the small PURE  sinewaves inverters to be the WORSE of them all. They radiate more HF trash than a MSW inverter. That's been my experience

But why do you need an inverter? Won't all your ham stuff run on your house battery?