Living in a Van?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

theLegionWithin

I'm converting a 1987 Ford Grumman Step Van into an RV/tiny home & intend to live in it for at least 5+ years - primarily boondocking in the desert/on BLM land (will probably trade up to a longer Step Van or maybe toy hauler eventually). it's perfectly doable - and more "normal" than it was in 2010 when the thread was started. what with covid screwing up society/crazy inflation started pricing folks out of houses/recession maybe incoming, living in a vehicle is probably my best move.

the conversion is slow going, I have no experience with tools, so sort of learning as I go. this weekend I started building a bulkhead wall to separate the cab from the living space, riveting aluminum sheeting that used to be on the walls to my new walls ;)

some pics for ya.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    87.2 KB · Views: 18
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    204.3 KB · Views: 18
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    115.1 KB · Views: 18
Our son did this with an old Uhaul moving truck. He has experience with tools; he was a carpenter, welder and locksmith for the Air Force for 12 years. His intention was to travel in it but he ended up living in it on our property in SW Virginia. He went through a winter with no electric or running water. It was rough but we do have electric now and he gets water for bathing and washing dishes from the creek or the spring. It’s all a learning curve.

Utilities are important, so you need to install 30 amp electrical hookups for eventual heating, AC, and lighting. Ditto for grey and black water tanks, as well as a fresh water tank so you will have a sanitary system when you boondock. And vents in the ceiling are also important for air flow and to allow light in when you do not have electricity.

The good thing is that your van is large enough to put all you want into it.