Moving into a Travel Trailer or 5th wheel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Debrakh25

Hello,  I am new to this whole RV thing, but it looks like My husband and two kids and I might be moving out of our house, and into a travel trailer or 5th wheel.  We cant afford the housing prices in California anymore.  We are looking at The 2006 Forest River Cardinal 362BH (40 ft), Cardinal 33TBH (36 ft), and the Cardinal T35TBH (38 ft travel trailer).  I need advice.  Are we crazy for thinking we can pull this off.  Please give me any feedback.
Thanks, Debra

Well, you will be downsizing to something like 350 sq feet of living space, versus whatever you have now. Probably 1200-2000 sq feet?  A family of 4, full time in an RV is, ah, very intimate.  But can it be done? Sure. And I can readily see why it would be appealing, given the cost of housing in CA (and elsewhere) these days.

If you plan to park it somewhere indefinitely and live in it, you might consider what is called a "park model".  It is a 400 sq ft RV that is designed to be parked in one place rather than moved around every few days. It will have residential-type appliances and will not waste space and money on facilities designed for travelers, e.g. the dual 12V/120V power systems, a hitch on the front, etc.

Have you loked into the availability and costs of a place to park it?  RV site rental can be pretty expensive too, in a region where land values have skyrocketed.

Cardinal makes a nice trailer. However, be aware that RVs are not really constructed for the rigors of full time use, especially by a growing family. In general, cabinetry, furniture, even walls will be lighter in weight and less robust. You will likely see more wear & tear than you would in your house.

Debra,

I'm curious about where you got those length numbers from.