my used Michelin tires vs. new tires for driving in the Andes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

comuntierra

Greetings and thanks in advance for any advice, I have very little experience buying tires and am here in Peru where it's harder to get good information...

I am driving a class C Rockwood motorhome through South America... it sits on a Ford Econoline 350 extended van chassis. When i bought the motorhome (used) in 2010, it had Michelin LTX A/S tires, type LT 215/85 R16, manufacture date being 2001 ... this exact tire: (http://www.tirepackage.com/Tires/LT215-85R16-LTX-A-S-by-Michelin.aspx?t_c=13&t_s=458&t_pt=100902&t_pl=100280&t_pn=MIC41550).

Original purchase was in California, and we have driven some 15,000 miles down to Peru, the tires perform pretty well, and still have decent thread. To my knowledge, the motorhome sat for a few years being I purchased it (not good for the tires as I understand), but the tires have low usage. Every tire shop I have shown the tires to during the trip say they are in good shape and do not need to be replaced, however standards down here in Latin America are definately lower that I am used to in the States.

So now to the question: we are entering the Andes, with steep climbs and drops up to 15000-16000 feet sometimes, and a lot of rural areas where tires and mechanical help in general are not easy to get. Right now we are in Lima, Peru, a big commercial city so we thought as a precautionary measure maybe it's time to buy new tires!

Our options are limited. Searching through several dealers I have found 3 options that could work for us: