Need advice on 1999 Coachmen Santara 36 MBS checkout...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dnash333

1999 Santara 36' Class A, 25K, super slide, Onan, leveling jacks, drivers dr, w/d conn, Coran countertop. $36,000.

Coach is in great shape and below nada low price. 25,000 miles and 800 hours on the generator. Only issue is some vibration in the 70-75 mile an hour range. I little in other spots too. Feels to me like just tire balancing, but I am no Motorhome expert.

I basically offered to buy it today pending having a local dealer give it the once over. Anyone have any advice for what that would mean or what they should charge me for it? They are going to be dissappointed because I was also looking at their new ones. Am a little concerned they will try to say it isn't sound in hopes I would buy one from them.

Advice???

Is there any way you could get a tech to do the inspection independent of the dealer? Are you able to check some stuff out yourself? If so, click the Library button above,d select Checklists and click Buying a used motorhome.

dnash333 said:
Advice???

I purchased a used '96 Class A a few months back. I made the deal w/down payment, but dependent upon an independent check out. I took it to a local truck service center and had them do a bumper to bumper on the chassis. Having been a full time RVer for about 10 years, the Motor Home stuff I pretty much did on my own. My only screw up was that I didn't hook up to shore water and discovered a hot water tank leak after the sale that didn't show up while using the on board water pump.