On the go water softener

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

samthetramp

Hey anyone have any opinions or experience with on the go water softeners?  Tired of nasty Campground water.

samthetramp said:
Hey anyone have any opinions or experience with on the go water softeners?  Tired of nasty Campground water.

I've been using one for about 18 months, including in an area with very high iron. It has worked very well for me. I first filter through a 5 micron charcoal filter, then the softener, then a 1 micron charcoal filter. In the high iron area without the softener and filters the water was orange after sitting for a day in the fridge. After filtration the water was bottled water quality. I refill my water bottles from the tap until the bottles wear out.

samthetramp said:
How badly do the other filters drop your pressure?

Somewhat. But I find the shower and sinks to be perfectly usable, and the trade off for clear good tasting water is worth it

We do more traveling and dry camping than long term, so our setup is a bit different than Scott's. We put the softener before the sediment filter (no charcoal filter) just because it is easier to hook up that way. We generally fill our tanks every 4-7 days and run off the tank water instead of park water. Exception is when I am doing a bunch of laundry when we use park water directly (though that passes through the softener too). Our water and ice are crystal clear and pretty tasty. We never use bottled water.

I'm a full timer so my system gets a ton of use. I generally use a charcoal filter and will get one of the softeners for sure. Maybe with a different shower head I can use the lower micron filter as well.

Thanks for the input.