Painting and sticker shock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

garyb1st

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Posts
3,955
Location
Southern California
It's been a while since I've done any painting and usually I just buy from Home Depot. But after one disastrous result using their Behr's paint and primer in one I decided to just use the old stuff, plain old paint. Unfortunately they don't sell it anymore. So I thought I'd go to Dunn Edwards to see what they suggest. Ouch. $75 - 100 a gallon for paint. And on top of that, they don't have much. Guess there's a shortage of paint. Not sure what's going on but hopefully someone on the forum can save me some time and money. So a couple of questions.

First, when I used the paint and primer in one I didn't put a prime coat over the old stuff. Within months, it began peeling off. I've already primed the two rooms I'll be painting so if that was the problem then I should be OK. My house is 70 years old and some of the paint may be lead based. Don't know how to tell and really am not concerned about it. However if it is, does that require any special prep.

Second, is Dunn Edwards or any of the other pro brands worth the price?
 

Gizmo100

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Posts
2,958
Just a Guess....
If you used latex paint over oil base it will peel. Unless you take steps to prepare the surface.
 

Mark_K5LXP

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 17, 2018
Posts
1,415
Location
Albuquerque, NM
Thinking you'd have to go back pretty far when oil base was the only game in town. Trying to think what the likelihood would be someone would've painted a room with it and not change it for decades. For prep though a product like Kilz primer would probably do the trick.

I normally get the 'mid' grade paint at lowes (I get 10% military discount...). For interior paint it lasts as long as our taste for the color, exterior has about 20 years on it and is starting to give up where the sun hits it. So I'd say if you're having problems with paint it's not the paint but per Gizmo100 it's the prep.

Mark B.
Albuquerque, NM
 

garyb1st

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Posts
3,955
Location
Southern California
Whole house was painted before I moved in. Based on the hardness of the paint, it could very well be oil based. I washed the walls and sanded them lightly but didn't use a primer. I won't make that mistake again.

For interior paint it lasts as long as our taste for the color, exterior has about 20 years
Well at my age, 20 years is more than enough. I just turned 78 and the way I feel, I'm not even sure I'll survive my current painting projects. lol
 

Oldgator73

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 28, 2017
Posts
3,440
OK Gator, you have to explain that one. It's early and I didn't get much sleep last night. By the way, where are the emojis on the new software. Do they come with a paid subscription?
We are old enough that green bananas probably won’t have time to ripen before we kick the bucket. Emojis are right above the text box.
 

prnebs

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 17, 2015
Posts
340
Location
FOCO CO
OK Gator, you have to explain that one. It's early and I didn't get much sleep last night. By the way, where are the emojis on the new software. Do they come with a paid subscription?
I had to laugh at that one! I think it means that at a certain age, it is considered risky to wait for the bananas to ripen.
 

Lou Schneider

Site Team
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Posts
11,025
I use Microsoft Paint, standard equipment in Windows. Print-Screen to put the screen image in the buffer, open a New project in Paint and Paste the image there. Draw what you want and Save it as a .JPG to upload to the Forum.


OK Gator, you have to explain that one. It's early and I didn't get much sleep last night. By the way, where are the emojis on the new software. Do they come with a paid subscription?
Click on the three dots, then the sub-menu with emojis will appear.

1628091341647.png
 

garyb1st

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Posts
3,955
Location
Southern California
Thanks Lou. Googled it for my iMac and came up with a pretty easy way. Actually I've done it before but thought Phil was doing something with the Forum software. Haven't found the equiv. of print screen on my iMac but can copy stuff to a text or word type file, save it and then mark it up using Preview. Just seems like there should be a quicker way. I was hoping that with an iPad or Windows equivalent, it would shortcut the effort and allow markups while posting to the Forum. I'm not only a Luddite, I'm a Lazy Luddite.
 

phil-t

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Posts
1,070
Location
Ogdensburg, NY
Gary, been a while since I used a MAC but I believe the screen capture is dependant on the MAC OS version in use. Some of the more recent versions have a very useful utility.
 
Top Bottom