Please check my math

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tlmgcamp

My TT came with a 100w panel on the roof and a 10A controller/charger. If I assume an average of 75% efficiency over 8 hrs, do I get this:

((100w x 0.75)/14v) = 5.3A
5.3A x 8hrs = 43Ahrs to system

Now, if I add a 100w portable panel and connect it to the same input screws on the controller as the roof panel, I go to 10.6A. However, am I correct that he controller will only let 10A through? Will higher input amperage damage the controller or cause it to protect itself by shutting down?

TT still at dealership getting work done so I can't give info on controller right now

I'm no solar expert, but I think you've got it right. Including the controller limitation of 10A. No, it won't harm it to have more watts available than it can use.

You don't get the full output for 8 hours. You can roughly count on near max potential output (minus isolation, weather) for about an hour before and after solar noon. So you can go with an average of some amount less than 80% to factor time of day, or do the math and integrate it based on sun angle.

1666023861806.png

Calculation of Solar Insolation | PVEducation

Seems like you're calculating peak current based on panel maximum power point. That current will change depending on the loading, and matters less with an MPPT vs a PWM controller. So the direct answer to your question is you need to know the controller details to decide if you'll be overloading it or not. Are you stuck with a 10A controller or can you substitute a larger one? I doubt there's much price difference.

Mark B.
Albuquerque, NM