question about length of rig and camping site

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

henkelphoto

Hi guys!

I'm very new at rv'ing and am confused about what a campground means when they say that a site is good for a 35' rig. Does this include the tv with a travel trailer or just the trailer? We are getting a small trailer, only 23' long, tip to tip, but if you include the tv, then is works out to about 41'. If it does mean that it is for both the trailer and tv, if you are too long, is there usually somewhere else to park the tv?

There is no fixed rule, but generally it means there is about 35 ft from near the edge of the roadway to the first significant obstruction at the back of the site. How you use that space is up to you, as is where you park the tow vehicle.  The site may or may not be wide enough to accommodate a tow vehicle alongside, or maybe there is roadside parking or other alternatives. The variations are endless.

Often Rvs longer than that length can be fit in if you are skillful enough or are willing to have the back end overhang something. The space estimate is typically very conservative, to allow for unskilled drivers or those who run to a lawyer after they screw something up.

The posted length of a campsite refers to it's total length. If the campsite is listed at 25 feet, and your trailer is 24 feet long, you'll have one foot left over - not enough to keep the tow vehicle attached. Having said that, it's been my experience that the posted lengths are not always real accurate. There is often a little more room (length) than what is posted - maybe not enough room to keep your tow vehicle attached - but maybe enough to park it sideways. It reallty depends on the campground, but there is usually enough room at campsites to park a car (TV) alongside your RV.

Kev