RV ovens

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rob&Deryl

I have read that some RV ovens don?t have uniform heat.

One object we plan to include is a cast iron griddle (or grill in the restaurant world) which we likely would use on the gas grill (or charbroiler in the restaurant world) to cook up breakfasts and such.

Assuming it fits, would putting in the oven on the bottom rack help to even out the heat?

Thanks

It will help but be careful it doesn?t warp or crack. I put a 3/16? steel plate on the bottom shelf and that helped a lot to stop things from burning in the center

IMO it would help a little, but I think you'd be better off with a thick, commercial pizza stone. I've been using this square one for about 3 years. Makes a huge difference, but you do need to pre-heat for a solid 30 minutes or more

Plus this one is the perfect size so as to not block the oven's ventilation holes what placed just above the burner

With our propane ovens, we used a pizza stone like Scott. One of them eventually broke, but it worked just fine after that. Make sure there is room for air circulation around the stone.

Back2PA said:
IMO it would help a little, but I think you'd be better off with a thick, commercial pizza stone. I've been using this square one for about 3 years. Makes a huge difference, but you do need to pre-heat for a solid 30 minutes or more

I tried one of those stones that DW rarely used and after about 6 times of use, it shattered. She wasn?t happy.