sanity check on basics

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

airborne_spoon

Ok so i just want to make sure i fully understand solar components and whatnot before i start buying stuff. I'm also very new to RV stuff and will be buying an RV tomorrow (Bushwhacker 10HD.)
So I'm looking at this panel for the solar (also thinking about this panel and sticking it to the curved portion of the treardrop for better aerodynamics) and from there the lines go to a charge controller... which has to be specific for lead acid or lithium? or just as long as its the right amps it doesn't matter?
power then goes to the batteries then out the the inverter and then the outlets. Is the inverter is the bit next to the fuse box? Does that have to be specific to lithium or lead acid batteries?

I'll have to wait till i get the trailer to measure the roof but i know at least one panel will fit on the roof rack, ideally I'd like to have 400w of solar going to 200-300Ah of lithium batteries.
I can do house wiring all day and car wiring is just as easy for me, but this 12v and 120v in the same system has got me a bit confused lol.

charge controller... which has to be specific for lead acid or lithium? or just as long as its the right amps it doesn't matter?

You answered your own question about the batteries. If you are getting lithium, the charger has to be lithium battery friendly.

So if i get a solar charge controller that is for lithium batteries how do i charge the batteries while on shore power? Because the way i understand the wiring, is when plugged into shore power it has a line that also charges the battery but that would be a charge line for a lead acid battery... so would i need another charge controller for while on shore power? or is there a charge controller that has an extra input leg for the shore power connection?