Shopping for a Travel camper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brbohica98

Hello everyone,

First of all i am new to the camper business so appreciate anything you have to offer.

I am looking to buy a travel camper bunkhouse style and would like some recommendations on what to go with? I jumped the gun and put down a deposit on a 2013 Crossroads Aspen Trail Reserve 26BH and stumble upon a forum where quite a few have had alot of issues on that particular model and brand. So now I am having second thoughts because of the electrical issues as well as bent wheels and axles to microwave arcing to front cap fading and getting alot of rock chips. I have looked at the following travel campers: Winnebago Minnie and Ultralite, Heartland North Trail, Coachmen Apex, Rockwood ultralite, Prime Time Tracer, Passport Grand Touring, Keystone Premiere Bullet and Cougar Xlite, Jayco WhiteHawk, Catalina, KZ Spree, and a few others that I have forgot.

I will be leaving Norfolk Virginia May 1st and intend to take the camper to my home in Kentucky as I am military and transferring to the west coast. My family and I will be leaving May 25th and want to head towards Denver and then up to Yellowstone, down to the Grand Canyon and into San Diego. I will be setting up the camper for about 60 days in San Diego until my family flies back to Kentucky and then putting the camper in storage until they fly out for visits.

I am down to 5 weeks and really want to get this done with. So I can atleast have a few weeks of the camper being used prior to departing the area. Appreciate any of advice you all have. My tow vehicle is a 2012 GMC Yukon Denali XL AWD (7800lb tow capacity).

Bryan
CWO3 US Navy

First time to find out is what trailer can your truck pull.  That is going to be determined by the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the trailer.