Tire pressure and gray water questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JonnysX2

I am new to hard side camping as I just graduated from a pop-up to a 2003 30' Salem we purchased last month and had our first trip in it this last weekend. 

Anyways, my first question on tire pressure.  The tires say on the side to inflate to 65 psi, however the dealer only had them set at 50# saying it will cause less things from "bouncing around inside" while traveling.  Is this a correct theory?

Second question on gray water tanks - do you take a shower?  Sounds stupid, BUT, all we did is go camping Friday night through Sunday afternoon.  I would say normal water usage was used doing dishes and such during that time.  My wife took about what she says a 7 minute shower Sunday morning.  Then it was my turn.  Half way through, water was comming back into the tub!  Grey water tank was already full!  The tank was empty when we left - well atleast as empty as I could get it since the exit hose seems to be up an inch or so on the side of the tank and it also has a dip in the middle of the tank.  I tried looking in my manuals but no info was given, but the dealer thought it is a 40 gal tank.  So, what do you do when you are in the middle of a trip, all set up and the tanks get full?  I guess I could dump some in a bucket, but the dump station is accross the park from where we usually stay so I am open to any other ideas ;)

Thanks in advance.

Tire inflation:  The function of a trailer tire is to bear the weight of the trailer.  An underinflated tire can bear less weight.  An underinflated tire builds up heat faster.    I run my trailer tires at the indicated maximum sidewall pressure.  Since no one rides in the trailer, no one is discomforted.  The stuff in the trailer is more affected by road manuevers and stops than by tire vibrations.