Tool essentials

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

IMZvonko

What tools do you bring with you as you travel?

I'm pretty handy so I can usually at least diagnose most things and usually am able to fix them. However, since I'm new to this, I have no idea what type of things can crop up, what I should even try to fix myself, what things should/must be done by an RV shop...

With space being limited, I assume one would want to bring only what is necessary. What do YOU do?

This is gonna get crazy fast in terms of "essentials"

I am a 45 year wrench - I have 3 tool bags that fit in the RV step. Pliers, wrenches, sockets, screwdrivers. A couple of hammers and mallets, some pry bars, a corded and cordless drill (& bits), in the basement I have 2 jackstands, a 2 ton bottle jack. In the electrical box I have strippers, crimpers, multi-meter, assortment of bullets, spades, wire, fuses. Files, rasps, sandpaper. WD40, brake cleaner, "canned air." Duct tape, electrical tape, painters tape and speed tape. Silicone, RTV, pipe thread tape, loctite, dielectric grease, wheel bearing grease. Battery post cleaning tool, vernier mics, steel squares, steel rules, tape measures, some clamps, feeler gauges. Various wire brushes including drill mount rotary. Couple of small hand saws. Tin snips.

Probably a few other things I am forgetting but that's basically it. Haven't been stymied yet.

OTOH you could probably get by with WD40, duct tape and a credit card - LOL...

Spare parts is another list...

Not exactly a handyman myself, but I can troubleshoot and do some basic repairs, if need be on the road.

Multimeter, crimp wire connectors, electrical tape, assorted fuses, hand saw, mallet, screwdriver, wrench and ratchet sets, 12V air compressor...and yes, of course: a road assistance plan and credit card. Lol.