Towing a 2007 Jayco 19ft JTX with Ford F150 8 cyl

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jonnystef

Hello again! We are going to look at the above rig Saturday and was looking for anyone's advice on whether I could effectively tow it. I think I have a fairly good idea on what to look for in terms of condition, but I am a novice. The asking price is 5700 bucks. The trucks engine 5.4  triton and the truck is an xlt model. Any thoughts?

Off the top of my head...  I would say you will have no problem as long as its properly hitched and hooked up electrically.

For a better and more accurate answer.  Some specs on the gross weight of the trailer and the tow ratings of your particular build would be in order.

Year: 2006
Make: Ford
Model: F-Series
Vehicle Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company, USA
Vehicle Type: Truck (Completed Vehicle)
Brake System: Hydraulic
GVWR Class: F
GVWR Range: 7,001 - 8,000
Restraint System Type: Active Belts and Second Generation Air Bags
Series: F150
Chassis Type: 4X2
Cab or Body Type: Super Cab Styleside
Engine Displacement: 5.4 Litre
Engine Type: SOHC
Engine Configuration: V-Type
Number of Cylinders: 8
Fuel Type: FFV
Engine Manufacturer: Ford
Vehicle Assembly Plant Name: Norfolk
Vehicle Assembly Plant Location: Norfolk, Virginia

I'm not sure that helps, and the trailer is here:

http://www.nadaguides.com/RVs/2007/Jayco/M-19-JTX/4091418/Standard-Equipment

The weight given on the NADA site is "Dry Weight".  A worthless number often quoted by dealers.  To that you have to add for :  Options, Water, gas, and other things you carry with you like cookware, clothes, tools, bedding etc.

I suggest always going by the GVW (Gross Vehicle Weight) of the trailer.  Chances are you actual weight when towing will be less than this figure.    Compare this to the weight your truck is actually rated to tow based on the type of hitch you have.