Towing confusion, please help me not be an idiot :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RoadDad

Hi all, I am totally new to this and don’t want to make a stupid mistake. I’ve done the math and I think I am ok, but a couple of experienced hands would give me a lot of confidence.

I have a 2019 Ram 1500 w/ tow package whose door decal says it has a 1300 lb payload and can haul 11300 lbs.

We want to get into rv’ing because it looks awesome, and we have my wife and me, two little kids, and a teenager. We have been looking at roughly 33’ travel trailers because a bunk room and a little space will be good for family dynamics. We have been looking at the grand design 321bh (travel trailer) which has a GVWR of 9295 lbs and a hitch weight of 728 lbs.

Can my truck safely tow a trailer of that size? The truck payload can handle the 728 lbs and the GVWR IS 82% of my tow capacity.

Is this ok or did I make some newbie mistake and I’m crazy to think that my truck could haul this?

thanks!

Could it do it, maybe, but remember those kids are going to grow, and as they do they will cut into your payload capacity more and more. Also that hitch weight number sounds awfully light to me. Don't get fooled by model number this beast is nearly 37 ft overall. If it were me I would look for something a LOT smaller to tow with a half ton pickup, particularly if you are planning on taking it on long road trips, vs to the local lake on the weekend.

Thank you uchu! I appreciate it.

When I do the math, it seems like I am super close the the overall payload of my truck: 1300 - 728 (hitch) = 572. But two adults and 3 kids can easily hit 572 lbs. It seems crazy to me that these tolerances are that close. My best friend is built like a linebacker; does that mean I basically can’t take him camping with the family because the truck will collapse?