Towing Need to know

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

StormMo75

Currently living in a 2009 5th Wheel that has a GVWR of 14,000 and is 34 ft long (it’s stationary at the moment.) My wife and I plan on camping out of it once we have a house built. I currently have a 2018 F150 with 5.0 V8. I know my truck is not capable of pulling that so I will have to upgrade to a 3/4 ton. I’m new to towing 5th wheels so taking in all tips and advice on what I need to look for in a truck. Pin weigh, upgrades to have on the new truck etc

Preciate all advise in advance

Any 250/2500 series truck will be no better than your 150. What you need is a 350/3500 SRW.
14,000 GVWR will equal approx 3000 pounds pin weight. That is in addition to hitch and what ever else you add to the truck.
Far too many people look/buy the absolute most minimal vehicle to tow far too much.

A late model 3/4 ton would work for 14,000, but if you are buying and don't already have something, just go with the 1 ton. That will eliminate all questions. Here is a video of a 2020 Duramax "2500" towing a 16,000 trailer on a very tough towing test.https://tfltruck.com/2019/06/does-the-2020-chevy-silverado-hd-duramax-crush-the-new-ram-hd-cummins-on-the-worlds-toughest-towing-test-ike-gauntlet-review/

A late model 3/4 ton would work for 14,000, but if you are buying and don't already have something, just go with the 1 ton. That will eliminate all questions. Here is a video of a 2020 Duramax "2500" towing a 16,000 trailer on a very tough towing test.https://tfltruck.com/2019/06/does-the-2020-chevy-silverado-hd-duramax-crush-the-new-ram-hd-cummins-on-the-worlds-toughest-towing-test-ike-gauntlet-review/