Trouble with Re-wiring

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Paul Normandin

Hello,

I have an older camper which I am refurbing. My issue is the following: I have a 50 amp outlet at the rear off the trailer feeding my inside panel. Now all is fine when I plug in my 50 amp cable to the power source but if I use my 30 amp adapter at the power source, my outlets are getting 220v. Has anyone run into this or have any suggestions on what went wrong?

Welcome to the forum.
I have limited experience with electricity but there many members here who will be able to help you out shortly. They’re probably still sleeping but check back here in just a bit and someone will chime in.

Sounds like one of the legs and neutral on the either the 50A socket or the pigtail are swapped. You can use a voltmeter to measure the wall socket first to see if that's correct. The terminal directly across from the ground pin is neutral, with the other two terminals being the 2 hot legs. If that looks OK then time to ring out the trailer pigtail to the breaker box.

Mark B.
Albuquerque, NM

Last edited:
Do not plug in again until you have this figured out. 220 in an RV can ruin a lot of good electronics. What does your 30 amp adapter look like?

It sounds like your plugging into a 30 amp 220 volt outlet...
The adapter is designed for a 30 amp 120 volt outlet.
But as SeilerBird stated don't plug it in until you fix it. Hopefully you have not damaged anything.

It sounds like your plugging into a 30 amp 220 volt outlet...
The adapter is designed for a 30 amp 120 volt outlet.
But as SeilerBird stated don't plug it in until you fix it. Hopefully you have not damaged anything.
Hello,
Thank you for your response. When you said: "It sounds like your plugging into a 30 amp 220 volt outlet."