Unsure of which trailer - first time travel trailer tower

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kaintucky

Hello,

I'm brand new to travel trailers. I've towed many boats & utility trailers but never worried about capacity because they were smaller trailers. I have a 2007 Chevy Silverado and the specs are here(as I read them (under Tech Specs tab)):
  • UVW: 5245 lbs
  • GVWR: 7000 lbs
  • Payload: 1755 lb
  • GCWR: 13000 lb
  • Max Trailer Wt (w/WDH): 7500 lb
  • Max Hitch Wt (w/WDH): 1125 lb
That being said, I'm considering 2 different travel trailers:
  1. Salem FSX 178BHS
    • UVW: 3749 lb
    • Payload: 1081 lb
    • GVWR: 4830 lb
    • Hitch Wt: 430 lb
  2. Salem Wildwood 230BHXL
    • UVW: 4941 lb
    • Payload: 2753 lb
    • GVWR: 7694 lb
    • Hitch Wt: 694 lb
There are features of each that I prefer; however, the biggest draw I have to the Salem Wildwood 230BHXL is that it has a tandem axle. But I also realize that if I combine the GVWR of the Wildwood and my truck the GCWR is exceeded. So if I go by the statistical facts of each individual GVWR and what is said in many other posts on here the Wildwood exceeds the GCWR of my truck.

But I also wonder if I'd put the max payload (1755 lb) in my truck and over 1059 lb in the trailer (to exceed 6000 lb camper, which is the max trailer weight according to GCWR). In my truck I account for gas (26g * 8.6 = ~225 lb), 2 adults & 2 kids (~450 lb), & gear (~150 lb); totaling ~825 lb which is under the payload max (do I need to add hitch weight to the payload? If so, still under payload but closer with the bigger trailer.) In the camper I account for full gray and black tanks (figured not all 3 tanks would ever be full while towing) as well as gear and liquids that won't be drained (6 - 10g I figure).