What Jobs Did You Have Before Finding Your Forever Career

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Oldgator73

I guess I started out like many did delivering newspapers. At 10 I was a hopper on a milk truck. At 14 I got a job, through my uncle, with Melweb signs putting billboards along the highways in Central Florida. At 16 I drove dump trucks and tractors for the county. At 18 I worked as a construction laborer until I joined IBEW Local 756 as a grunt on a line crew. I was later promoted to a Class B Operator. After that I got a state job working on a survey crew. We mostly surveyed borrow pits so the state knew how much to pay landowners for the dirt. I was also an inspector for construction of state highways. Then one night a friend of my wife’s came to dinner with her boyfriend who was in the Air Force. He made it sound pretty exciting so the next day I went to the local recruiter and joined. It was 1975 and I was 24 years old. I stayed in 24 years and retired at 48. But I still had to work so I got a job with a gas line inspection company. That lasted 6 months until I decided to use my GI Bill to go to school. Graduated from University of Florida and ended up in Delaware working at Dover AFB in the Education Office. Drove back and forth to Philly a couple times a week to attend Widener University where I got a Master’s in Education. Retired from the Federal Government as a GS12 in 2015. The End! :cool:

My first paying job was pitching hay bales for 10 cents a bale, split between we 5 boys working as a crew between high school years.
During a school year I worked at the local A&P grocery store after school.
After graduation hired on at the Westinghouse Electric plant, attended their tool & die apprenticeship. Got drafted into the army @ $30/month. Came home, got my tool & die job back, got bored, rejoined the army.