What sealant is used on new travel trailers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

x94cherry

Hi everyone--I'm new to RVing and just bought a four-year-old Gulf Stream Vista Cruiser (fiberglass walls and roof).

It appears that the whole thing (except the roof) has been re-sealed with clear silicone. I didn't think anything of it because the RV dealer recommended silicone as a sealant, and because all the trailers we looked at, including the new ones, were sealed with a clear sealant that looked and felt like silicone. Now, though, I'm learning that silicone sealant is a big no-no with RVers.

So I'm curious: were all those new RVs we looked at sealed with silicone, or is it another sealant that looks like silicone but isn't? If it isn't silicone, what is it?

Also: Why do all the RV dealers sell so much silicone sealant if it's that bad?

Also: How concerned do I need to be about the silicone sealant on my trailer? It looks like it's mostly in good shape. Do I need to scrape out all that silicone and re-seal it with something else?

Thanks in advance for your help!

On our Winnie, silicone is used to seal the exterior porch light and area-light on the driver's side, but butyl tape (or something similar) is used around the door and window frames. I think that's pretty typical. Winnebago provides a list of sealants they used in different places throughout the coach, but I don't remember, off hand, if they used it anywhere else.

I won't use silicone to seal anything on our coach unless it's already been used. It seals well, and seems to be fairly durable, but it's incredibly difficult to completely remove, and nothing else will stick to it.

Kev

Now, though, I'm learning that silicone sealant is a big no-no with RVers.