where to find parts for really old RV?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cclglcc

Hi All,

Recently I was gifted a really old RV. It is a 1986 WINN MINNI M-42. It still drives, but when I press the brake, I feel constant pulsation. I feel maybe the rotor is warped. Trying to find replacement parts, but couldn't find them in places I normally shop for auto parts, like autozone.

Do you guys have experience with such an old rig and know where to find replacement parts?

It is my first time with RV and also with such an old rig. It seems that the car does not have airbag, and safty belt is across my belly not my shoulder. Is there any serious concern with safety issue driving such an old car?

Thanks a lot!

Welcome!

It's helpful to know what chassis your Winnebago rides on, so you can look up parts that way. Is it a Ford, Chevy, or something else? Providing the first 8 or so of the VIN might be helpful as well.

Here's the 1986 Winnebago Minnie Winnie brochure. I don't see that M-42 was a model, but there are plenty of 24' Class C's. Does yours match one in the brochure?

Thanks Skookum! The first few digits of vin is 2GBJG31MXG. Just found the owner manual, It seems like a chevy van. Where can I find parts for 24' class C van?

I think that is going to be a Chevy G30 van chassis, so when asking for parts try asking for G30 van parts not Winnebago parts. Also NAPA is probably a better bet than Autozone

Isaac-1 got it. It's an 86 Chevrolet G30 cutaway chassis. I'm not clear on the engine choices for that year but that should be found out pretty easily. Someone with more VIN google-fu than me can figure that one out.

Rockauto has lots of stuff for the G-series. Just plug in the year/make model as 1986 Chevrolet G30 and look for what you need.

very cool. Wow. I didn't expect to get help from so many people so quickly here.