Your opinion of Harbor Freight?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I tend to treat all tools as disposable, particularly those with batteries, as when the battery pack dies in 5 years, they will have moved on to some newer / better battery that will not fit the older tool. I also think we tend to remember the good old made in america days as better than they really were, just look at the awful quality of steel used on screws up through the 1960's and how easy it was to twist the head off a screw, now ask yourself when was the last time you twisted a head off a screw on a automobile, or other quality piece of equipment (tractors, etc.), not on disposable appliances.

Depends on the job. I was a professional mechanic and my everyday tools are Snap-on or equivalent however I do use HF tools for occasional use. The battery impact hits harder than some name brand stuff for a fraction of the price. Slowly replacing air driven tools with battery operated. Nice not having to have an air hose and the battery stuff can go anywhere.

I was a mobile HVAC technician in the UK for the last 35 years before I retired. I can't remember the last time I broke a wrench or had it open up on a nut no matter how I've abused it(we call them spanners) or a socket, and only bought reasonable quality tools like Kamasa.
I've left behind or lost more than I've ever broken so the likes of HF are good enough for me.

I thought about it for like 3 seconds and said, "Like how does that work? You're telling me that in month 13 I blow up the chainsaw, I come here and pay $40 for the 2 year warranty. Then I go home and next week bring in the busted chain saw that was already busted when I came to buy the warranty?"