Generator Issue/ Electrical

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Joedetroit84

I have a 2000 Tiffin Allegro. We were on a month trip and everything worked fine. We live in the NorthWest and i recently winterized my motorhome but not sure if it has anything to do with this. With the cold harsh weather we sometimes rely on our motorhome if the power goes out in our home which it does from time to time. Anyway, I start it up every two weeks and check everything. Today, I started the generator and it started up fine. However, there is no power to anything. The outlets are zero and the appliances are zero. I checked the main breaker box, the main was off which it usually is when I shut down. I turned it on and still nothing. I shut everything down and started over and still nothing. I like to work on things myself but I'm a real novice with electrical. Some things I can do but I would like it if someone could tell me where to look first with this problem.

My first guess is the transfer switch. Maybe a control power fuse for that. Anything else is a pretty involved electrical problem.

Hi Joedetroit84,

I run the heat in the RV sometimes during the winter. I was doing some maintance items and had an electric heater going and decided to also make some tea in the microwave oven. This caused the power to go out when the generator was going. The generator was still running. I checked the main breaker and that wasn't it. Got into my manual and saw there is a breaker on the generator itself. Had a hard time finding it but located it at a right angle from the starting button. I flipped a small plastic lever on this small round, black breaker on the generator and fired things up again and things worked fine. If it isn't the generator breaker, it could be the transfer switch which will be more costly a problem.