Testing electric trailer brakes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

distanceed

I'm new to the RV Forum and have a simple "How to...".

Question
How can I conduct a simple test to make sure my electric trailer brakes are working properly?

Background
I have a 30 ft toyhauler camper {Skyline - Mountain View) that I pull with a Toyota Tundra 5.7L truck.  The truck came equipped with a factory installed multi-pin brake light and brake actuator connection next to my trailer hitch. 

I now live in Denver and do not want to learn that my trailer brakes are not working properly coming down from a 12,000 foot pass in the Rockies.  I would prefer to be able to check to make sure my trail brakes are working each time I connect my trailer to the truck.

I tried the drive on gravel (and pavement) technique where I drive less than 10 miles per hour and slam on the breaks to view any skid marks in the gravel or on the pavement. This technique seems about as reliable and useful as nothing.  I always get truck skids and rarely get good evidence of trailer skid. 

I looked on the web for "testing trailer brakes" and get "get a multi-meter and remove the blue wire..." or removee the lug nut from the wheel and ...." 

Since the actuator was installed by the Toyota company, I cannot operate it independent of truck braking system.  I used to have an aftermarket actuator on an older truck and could actuate the trailer brake while stepping on the accelerator (gas)  The trailer tires would be lock on and leave skid marks with the aftermarket test.

I can't believe that everybody simply hooks their trailer to their truck, plugs in the wiring harness and dive away hoping the brakes work at a 100% efficiency level.

Again, what is a simple test of trailer brake operation that an RVer can do when one connects the trailer to the tow vehicle?