2500 vs 3500 for close to full timing truck camper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

_Tee_

Hello, everyone.

I'm new to truck camping and currently shopping for a truck and camper.
I've been torn between shopping for a 2500 or 3500 truck. I might be looking to tow a small honda fit (about 2,600lbs) behind the truck as well with the camper loaded on the truck at the same time.
There's a lot more 2500s on the market, but it seems like a 3500 would give the most peace of mind to ensure I don't exeed the payload/tow capacity.

Any additional advice, thoughts, considerations are appreciated.

Thank you so much,

Tee

Welcome to the Forum. Truck campers weight a lot. Depending on the weight of the camper and the cargo/payload capacity of the 3500, even a single wheel one ton may not be enough. You may need a dual wheel 3500. Give us the Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW); NOT unloaded weight (UVW), of the camper and we can give you advice. However, note that each 3500 has a different cargo capacity depending on the options on the truck.

You need to shop for the camper that suits your needs and then buy a truck that can carry it. A camper nicely equipped for fulltime use is going to be heavy, so odds are a 3/4 ton (2500) isn't going to cut it. Nor will some 1-ton configurations. If you buy the truck first, get the biggest GVWR & CCC that you can.

You need to shop for the camper that suits your needs and then buy a truck that can carry it. A camper nicely equipped for fulltime use is going to be heavy, so odds are a 3/4 ton (2500) isn't going to cut it. Nor will some 1-ton configurations. If you buy the truck first, get the biggest GVWR & CCC that you can.
^^^ That ^^^

Thank you all so much for your advice! I really appreciate it.