Anode stuck

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ursusj2

Hello, I am new to trailer camping. I 2024 Casita with a Suburban water heater. I emptied it about 10 days ago and tried to replace the anode. It’s about half way screwed in and now won’t budge in or out. I’ve tried taking a gamer to the socket wrench handle and it didn’t move. My guess is I’ve got it gross threaded. Any suggestions on getting it unstuck?

Was it difficult to turn before it jammed? I don't see any way it could suddenly get cross-threaded in the middle of unscrewing it, so maybe it was crossed from the git-go. The other possibility is that the anode portion has bent or otherwise become jammed against the sidewall or in the threads.

I have no good ideas except lots of penetrating oil and keep working it back & forth in hopes it will begin to move. I would expect that movement inward is more likely to be successful than out, but that's just an educated guess.

In addition to the use of penetrating oil, try working the anode back and forth, or in and out to work the penetrating oil into the threads. Hammering on the tools is a very bad idea. You could put a pipe or something on the handle of your socket wrench but just keep in mind that too much force may cause other damage.

The way I read his post, he emptied the tank 10 days ago so the old anode was removed.
To the Op , if you have it in 1/2 way, chances are good it is not cross threaded unless it went hard from the very 1st turn.
All I would do is put some type of handle on the ratchet and crank it out. Once out, I would also get a tap and clean up the threads. Take a close look at the threads on the plug. Good luck. Please let us know how you make out..

Oh and welcome to the forum