Braking/OverDrive Options when dealing with steep incline/decline

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

braduah

Awesome folks of RVforum....

Based on experience, what is the best way to handle hills/mountains when traveling?  I'm new to rv'ing and trying to understand the best way to let the engine provide the braking vs 'riding' or 'pumping' the brakes.  Below are the Engine/Tran Specs of the unit..

V-10, F-Series Super Duty
320 hp @ 4,750 RPM
460 ft-lbs @ 3,250 RPM
Gas, 6 speed automatic with Overdrive

Any input for this newbie would be much appreciated!

Don't be afraid to use your transmission!

Shift down a gear or turn off your overdrive for long downhill runs. I will use lower gears for stops also. Start downhills slowly and keep it slow and steady. Once you gain speed and momentum it's hard to slow with just breaks. Keep in mind if you do overheat the breaks they loose efficiency, they will fade and the break components can be damaged.

Commercial truck drivers are taught to use the transmission as the primary braking device going down a hill.  Shift into a lower gear and let the engine rev up to hold the rig back.  Brakes are used sparingly, if at all, to avoid overheating and fade-out.

Interstates and other major highways in mountain areas have signs at the top of long downgrades, telling you how steep and how long the descent will be.  It won't take long until you learn that you can descend a 4%-6% grade at or near the speed limit without using the brakes by turning off the overdrive or downshifting by one gear and letting the engine speed up while a 7%-8% grade means you'll have to go more slowly and use a lower gear.  These are just examples, the actual performance will vary according to the characteristics of your rig.