Driver Training

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nilesfrancis

Hi, I introduced myself a few days ago, Australian arriving in Atlanta to pick up my 39' Fleetwood Discovery in early May.  I've checked out the Internet for Driving Schools - most are in California.  Does anyone know of anyone close to Atlanta that could teach me the ins & outs of the RV itself, and how to properly drive it?  I've got 40+ years of driving experience, in all sorts of conditions, with a clean driving record - but I have never driven anything this big - plus I want to tow an SUV.  Thanks, Liz

I used to drive the big red London buses, and carried a Public Service Vehicle Licence for manual / standard shift coach and tow up to 75 feet combined length for 24 years.

Start without the tow.

Go find yourself an empty parking lot, and get used to some low speed maneuvers.

Your main difference between a large RV and car or a truck, is that the steering road wheels are behind your ass is a class A or a Bus style RV, in a class C you can drive it as a large fixed chassis truck.

Find a comfortable position on the road, this will need some retraining, you can check behind with either mirror or rear camera, you'll need to be about a foot to a foot and a half further left, than will feel comfortable to start off with, due to the width of the vehicle.

You can actually move nearly another foot to the left and still be safer yet as it will keep you off the curb.