How to catch the beginnings of water damage

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chagood

I am new to RVs, but I have the impression that an RV is a leaking box or a box that is about to leak.  Granted prevention is the key, but many causes of leaks are not that noticeable.  I am wondering what people do to ensure water damage is not occurring?  How do you check?  Would it make sense to cut small holes in the interior wall in key areas so you could monthly check if a beam is damp?

Regular roof maintenance is probably the main way to prevent leaking.  Water in the walls is a symptom, not the problem.  If you inspect roof seams for condition and cracking, and ideally reinforce/cover with Eternabond tape or a similar product... you should not have to worry about leaks.

scottydl said:
Regular roof maintenance is probably the main way to prevent leaking.  Water in the walls is a symptom, not the problem.  If you inspect roof seams for condition and cracking, and ideally reinforce/cover with Eternabond tape or a similar product... you should not have to worry about leaks.
As I've always said.....
There's gotta be a better way.
Like, maybe a manufacturing process that is immune to leaks.
You don't see roofs on cars or trucks, or even busses leaking, so why are motorhomes such leaking sieves?

Why do rv's still come with a furnace that is only about 50% efficient? 

One thing you can do is find out what is in the walls and ceiling on an RV you are considering buying.  Is the framing wood or aluminum?  What goes between the studs?  How are the walls made?  How is the roof constructed? 

There is a difference between RVs in terms of construction.  Older units are more likely to have more wood construction instead of aluminum.