Is a 30 to 50 amp adaptor needed sometimes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ross W

Hello, My travel trailer is 30 amps and I'm wondering if there are times when a 50 amp service is the only option. Should I have a 30 to 50 amp adaptor on hand in cases where there's only 50 amp? Or do most 50 amp services have a 30 amp plug alongside the 50? I'm fairly new to RV'ing and finding some of things I've purchased already, may never be used or chances of using it are minimal.

Thanks!

I would get one. Depending on where you stay, the 30A connector is so overused the plug won't stay in snugly and could cause potential issues. The 50A are usually less used and don't have this issue.

Yes, you will need an adapter. I have a Valterra brand that I use for our motorhome. The motorhome is only 30 amp, but I always use the adapter and plug into the 50 amp receptacle. I do this for three reasons. One, the 50 receptacle is generally in better shape than the 30 amp. Two, a lot of times, the 30 amp breaker has been tripped many times in the past, and is weak, giving nuisance trips. Three, useless something is drastically wrong, the 50 amp won't trip. The 30 amp main breaker in the RV will protect the system. If it trips, I don't have to go outside to reset it.
Yes, most often there is a 30 amp receptacle along with the
50 amp receptacle, but there are isolated instances where there's not.

I have been on ONE site that was 50 amp only and I've been in a park where my neighbor's 30 amp plug would not connect to the the 30 amp outlet but DID connect to my 30-50 adapter.. He now had one of his own.  I would recommend it. also a 30-15

Check out the adapters manufactured by Progressive Industries. They are real beefy.

https://www.progressiveindustries.net/30-50-adapter