lubricating slide outs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alfonseh

I am new to the RV world and have a 2015 Keystone Montana 3711FL that I am living in full time.  I have a question about the slide outs and how often to lubricate them, if at all.  In my research I have seen all kinds of advice ranging from lubing them once a week to never.  What advice can you guys give me for this?  Thanks in advance!

Welcome!!

Most seem to suggest "NEVER" as to adding a lubricant to most things under there only succeeds in creating a gooey mess with road dirt etc. Perhaps inside and around the motor gear, a little light oil, nothing on the rollers or slide pads. You would not want to track a lot of 'stuff' inside when you pull the slides in.

I heard to do it once a year with the slide out lube sold a rv stores.

Best bet is to follow manufacturers recommendation. If one does lube their slides, I would use a dry lube to avoid attracting dust and dirt. That will only cause problems.

Mine has the Lippert slides
I found a youtube video put out by Lipert, that demonstrated lubing the mechanism with a specified teflon spray into very specific wear points

But from what I have been able to learn here and elsewhere, that all of these aftermarket slide seal products are really just ways for folks to get your money.  Not needed.

Like out here with the high humidity in the winter time you need to put some lubricant on exposed metal parts or rust forms. Like where the rollers have taken the paint off the slide arms I will lightly spray with dry silicone spray. Roller axles yes for sure lube them. Then like on my Power Gear there is a gear box in the middle for the hand crank that is packed with grease. Then on the electric motor there is a oil hole. Each slide setup will have something a bit different.

Rich, might be this video.....hope all is well with you.