Need advice please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mwe3302

Hi everyone, so i didnt really know where to ask this. It has to do with my camper breakaway controller, we bought a brand new Winnebego 2351DKS, in cherry last August. I didnt know i was suppose to not remove this little plunger that goes into the breakaway controller but anyways everytime its home i pull this out as away to keep it from moving and also as atheft deterarant, keep in mind i am new to camping and just didnt know i was suppose to leave this in all the time.
So today i was openening it for spring and decided i would plug the camper into my garages 110 outlet so about 10 minutes later i am smelling an electrical smell but couldnt figure out what it was till i went with a hose to the fresh water tank and wNted to flush that out that i noticed smoke coming out of the controller and saw that the whole break aay switch was totally melted, i imediatly ran and unplugged the camper from the garage and pulled the 2 wires out of the switch that run to the brakes.
        I called the dealer where i got it and explaned everything and he told me i might have burned the magnets out, but maybe not. He said to just get a new switch and replace it and it should be okay. Could i have done more than this? Any suggestions or further insigt would be great. I just didnt know that little plunger should never be removed, i guess i know why my battery was always dieing on me now, really stinks to learn the hard way but i just didnt know?

Welcome to the forum.

We all didn't know - what we do now - at some point in our lives.

I take my "plug" out once a year for a minute or so just to make sure it will come out and that there are no bugs etc in the housing.
Otherwise it stays in all the time.