New member 84 cheiftain

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

84beachbago

Hi everybody, I'm just starting a remodel of a 1984 Winnebago Cheiftain 27' that I saved from a trip to the dump. I took a big leap, sold our truck camper that we have been camping in on the beaches of Cape Cod for the past 7 years, and hopefully use the money to get this thing mobile and beach ready. We have seen this rig on the beach this past summer so it ran up until recently. The Fuel system needs replacing and it was full of mice so I am also gutting the inside. I'm a builder so hopefully I can get the interior done with a combination of leftover job materials and a few upgrades. I plan on keeping the layout roughly the same.

A few alterations I'm considering are
- removing the generator(broken) and making the compartment a home for 2 vertical blue rhino propane tanks to make refilling easier.
- replacing the water heater with a tankless water heater
- switching the oven/range with a top mount range
- complete redo of the electric system and put solar on the roof
- recessed lights with switches so the kids can turn lights on at night.

Hopefully its "done" by July! I'll take pics along the way

- Ian2E64B6F8-486C-4AE9-9D26-CF0D3684851F.JPG66286298-3F7D-40E5-B0BE-6FCB57A38675.JPGIMG_1907.jpegIMG_1908.jpegIMG_1909.jpegIMG_2018.jpegIMG_2019.jpeg

Should be fun, you may want to read up on other camper’s experiences w/ tankless, most aren’t promising.

Should be fun, you may want to read up on other camper’s experiences w/ tankless, most aren’t promising.
Thanks, good to know. Looking through reviews on even the new suburban tank hot water heaters it seems the quality has gone down hill. Lots of leaking issues. Makes me wish I was more careful removing the existing one. I'll probably install a pan of some sort to drain any potential leaks.