Should I put my stabilizers down when 32' parked (empty) for a week or two?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChristineB

I am a newbie with a 32 footer. My question is:  when we put it in storage in between camping trips, should we put the stabilizers down or leave them up?  On our old pop up we left them down and raised the front a few inches higher so any rain could roll off.
Should we do the same with our 32 footer?
Thanks for all the great advise!!

The best thing you can do is tag the ground with them and take a little weight off the tires. It will help them from getting a flat spot. Spray the legs with a little silicone lube and all will be good.

As far as run-off, Your call.

Steve

I don't.  I think the only benefit I get from them is to make the trailer more stable when i walk around in it.  Since I won't be in the trailer, it is just extra work to set up and take down.  IMHO, of course.

I do like John (COMer).  I never bothered to put the stab jacks unless I was going to sleep in the trailer.  My first trailer had a flat roof, so I would raise the front for the water to run off.  My current trailer has an arch on the roof, so I don't bother.

I don't know if this is the proper thing to do or not, but that's what I do. 

Remember that they are "stabilizers", not "jacks". They should not be used to lift any weight - that's what the tires and tongue jack are for. I only use mine when we're in it. Ours sits for 5 - 6 months each winter an I've never had any flat spots or other tire troubles.

When my RV is parked in the yard it just sitting on the tongue jack and tire. The stabilizers are not used. But like today I'm trying to get it together for a trip soon so I levelled it out and put the stabilizers down so you can walk inside with it rocking around and bouncing. But typically I don't bother with it in the yard just stored.