So you work from your RV. What's your Web connectivity strategy?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ganchan

When I begin full-timing on the road as a freelance writer, I'll need to be able to use the Web fairly freely -- and frankly, the occasional streaming movie would be welcome too.  I can use local business' Wi-Fi for my work during the day, but I'd better have a mobile hot spot ready to go at night and/or in the boondocks. I was hoping to get an unlimited data plan through Verizon, but it looks like they stopped offering it....

If you work from your RV, what do you do to ensure online access?

I do photography and web and graphic design and I have a 20 GB data plan through Verizon with my jetpack Hot Spot, it works fine for internet, email and transferring files, but I don't use it to stream movies or anything, mainly because it is a data hog and I really am not interested in most movies - I have Dish Network over Sat for the TV and find that is sufficient. Any movies I want to see I find there!

20 GB seems to be fine for what I do and i am online most everyday for a fair part of the day!

Good Luck - BTW Verizon coverage is the best, had an ATT IPhone for a while and it could never connect, so bad I forwarded it to my dumb flip phone through Verizon and after a year dropped the ATT Phone!

Jim

We are lucky enough to have a grandfathered Verizon data plan and we do use it for all the things you mention.  If we didn't have it, I would still probably invest in as large a data plan as I could afford.  It's getting to the point where I would consider not having satellite TV and just using streaming for my TV watching.  We could probably get by with ~70-80GB of data/mo and still do quite a bit of streaming.

Our phone has a built-in hotspot if needed.  Alternately, you can get a hotspot at the electronic stores, about $40 a month.