Solar hardware recommendations needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Darkyputz

Hello everyone...

We are overhauling our 2001 Coachmen santara and with the new roof i want to get 1-3 panels up there, depending on the space i will find.
So my questions are:
- Whats the best way to leak free mount them.
- What charge controller/inverter/transfer switch system should i get to have 120v while on solar/batteries (no crazy wattage needed)
Right now i only have a Magnatek 940 charge controller and NO 120V when geni is off and not hooked up to something
On top i have 2x 100ah lead acids under the stairs and so far lights and water pump run on 12 volt.
So it would be awesome to have a off grid hybrid inverter/charger with transfer switch included...
But i am a total noob on that.
PV and electric wise i am knowledgeable.

thx for any thoughts...i dont mind cheaper end suggestions :)

It's such an open-ended question I (and probably others) hardly know where to start. Any inverter will do, but you need to come up with an estimate of what 120v items you need to run and thus how much amperage or watts will be required. But I'll caution that your 2 x 100ah batteries aren't going to provide a lot of watt-hours, so don't be thinking high demand appliances (heaters, microwaves) or lengthy run-times. Unless you add more battery capacity, for practical reasons you are probably limited to the 1200-1800 watt range.

That Magnetek 940 is ancient technology, so you may as well get a combo inverter/charger to both replace the Magnetek and do the inverting. I also suggest one with a built-in auto-transfer switch to keep the wiring of inverter & shore power simple.