Surge protector installation

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NomadinCanada

Hello, Im new to RVing. I have purchased a 28.5 ft Fifth wheel that I will park and live in. My supply is 50A and my trailer is 30A. I will install a surge protector, but where should it go? Into the 50A supply or into the Dog Bone at the 30A end?

I would it it in the 50. I was always told that the contacts inside the 50 will be in better shape than the 30 because it doesn’t get used as much

Unless you are parking it and basically taking the wheels off it goes in the trailer. if the trailer is 30 amp you either use a 30 amp surge protector or you can do some fancy wiring with a 50 in the theory you may move it to a newer 50 amp trailer later.
If you are "Taking the wheels off" (Never goign to move it so long as you own it) Then a 50 amp on the outlet makes sense. but only then. I truly like the matching the RV installed in the RV type.

I have to disagree a bit with John. If you choose a portable surge/power protector, it goes on the end nearest the power pedestal. If its a permanent install, it goes on the RV end, where the shore cord joins. The advantage of a permanent install is that it's a lot less likely to "grow legs" and walk away.

As for pedestal vs dogbone, it depends on whether you buy a 30A model protector or a 50A. Either one works, even though your RV is 30A only. If you get a 30A surge unit, it will have a 30A plug so it MUST plug into the 50/30 dogbone. If you get a 50A surge unit, then it has a 50A plug and must plug to the pedestal; your 50/30 dogbone then plugs into it. dog bone plugs into it. Buy the 50A version if you think you might someday buy another RV that has 50A shore service. If that's not likely, at least not in the foreseeable future, buy the 30A version and save a few bucks.