Towing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dmflt

Nother newbie here. After some explanation, I have a question.

I've towed several small travel trailers with no ill effects. Just purchased a 35' super lite bla bla bla. I'm towing with a 07 Tundra that has a capacity rating of 10,600 lbs. Trailer dry is 74 and some change. At this very moment, I can't remember the brand of weight distribution hitch but it's a good one. I had the hitch expert at the dealer check it all out while hooked up and he said everything looked great.

My deal is; while towing now I can feel weird sensations in the towing vehicle that I haven't experienced in the past. When big trucks take the air off me, my truck feels like it wants to drift. It doesn't, but it sure feels like it could swap lanes on me.

The hitch guy told me that was normal and I should be fine and that I would 'get used to' it. ::)

My question is; Is he right? Is it something that I will get used to, or is it not normal? I realize I'm catching a lot more air now but it just doesn't feel comfortable. I don't feel like I have total control.

Ok, I know you guys have answered this a thousand times, but like I said, I'm new. Please feed me your thoughts.

Thanks in advance

Better yet, what does the trailer actually weigh ready for travel and what is the hitch weight?  It sounds like you have too little weight on the hitch.

Sorry for the delay...my wife took over my computer when she came in from work.

The trailer weight is 7460 lbs. Hitch weight is 795 lbs.

I actually believe there is too much weight on the bumper because the front end of the truck feels light.

The trailer experts here will be along soon but it sounds like the weight distribution hitch isn't set right.

A handful of questions if you don't mind......

Does the truck look level?