travel trailer vs fifth wheel vs motor home

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pawntan

I have been using my Coachmen Apex 28BH for 5 years. Before I have had smaller camper , but always travel trailers. I never own a fifth wheel or motor home (class A or C) . The benefit of travel trailer is , I can unhook the travel trailer and I can go into and park down town with my Jeep Grand Cherokee without any issue . So I see that mobility at the destinations cities/towns is a plus. But now I am thinking of upgrading . What do you think about my thoughts here

1. Dealing with weight distributing hitch and the high tension bar may not be safeas I get older . I could miss a step and loose a finger . Does fifth wheel or motor home offer more safety for hitching / unhitching operation ?

2. How do you guys with big fifth wheel or motor home fill up gas ? Filling up gas station in love/ flying J/ Pilot is a bit challenge for me. When there is empty spot , it is not that bad. But when I have to wait for others, I find that my Jeep GC plus 28feet travel trailer blocks other people from moving out of the parking spot . When that happen, I have to keep circling around, and loose the opportunities for empty gas pump.

3. I find it easier to just go to smaller gas station like Exxon/ Mobile/Shell, and not truck stop. That way I can drive right in to the pump. But I just can't imagine you guys with big fifth wheel and motor home can go to smaller gas station. Do you fill up gas in smaller gas station ? If you do how do you know if the small gas station is too small without actually taking the exist from the interstate and check it out ?

4. For driving motor home with tow behind small car, how safe it is to hitch / unhitch the small car compare to working with weigh distributing hitch tension bar with travel trailer ?