Water Pump setting off alarm

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MortgageDiva

I am a newbie trailer girl. My water pump was constantly running so I turned it off. My batteries are low right now due to solar panel damage. When I turn on water pump an alarm goes off. Cant figure out where the alarm either. Why is this happening? A leak, fire, low battery?

Its 'probably your LP alarm. It should be somewhere near your stove. Many will chirp when the battery is low and you did say your battery was low.
You should try to figure out why your pump runs all the time. Give us some details and we may be able to help you.

The alarm is likely due to the low battery.  If the alarm comes on with the water pump, that makes sense because if the battery is already low the water pump will drag it down real low.

As to the water pump running all the time...it is likely a bypass pump like a Surflo 4048 pump.  A bypass pump is designed to run water down to very low flow without the pump cycling on and off.  It does this by bypassing water internally rather than the pressure switch shutting the pump off at low flow.  However, if the bypass pressure gets too close or overlaps the shutoff pressure the pump will not stop running.