What drive train?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oldwildman

Hi! I've been reading through a lot of this and found some great info. My girlfriend and I are going to be buying a class a probably late next year. Doing some window shopping to see what's available in our price range. I'm a semi retired contractor and very handy with most things including basic mechanical. We're hoping that will help with getting a used one. We plan on one extended coast to coast tour and then snowbirding in FL in Jan and Feb. 2k round trip for that. Probably at least one fairly local vacation mid summer just to keep things loosened up in the unit. Not a huge amount of mileage but still a fair amount.

My first question (of many to come! LOL) is what drive train would be best for our budget/needs. We are thinking a 35-40 foot with opposing slides. Hoping to stay at or under 100k. I understand diesel is best but not sure it will fit into our budget. We are planning on towing either an Accord or Civic on a dolly. Looks like it will just make it under the 5k lb weight. Is a gas engine doable? Or am we just going to put too much of a strain on it? If gas is an option, what drivetrains to put at the top of the list and what to put on the bottom?

We're already planning on a certified inspection. If that doesn't cover a full mechanical inspection, we'll be getting that too.

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the forums! Lots of friendly and knowledgeable folks here.

You’re not going to have a lot of choice as far as gas engines go. As of late, the Ford V8 is pretty much all that is being produced in RVs. Before that, the Ford V10. Go back a little older and the GM Vortec 8.1 V8 was in production along with the Ford V10.