Wheel Base

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pappi49

Doing some research for a friend. He is considering the purchase of a 30 ft. travel trailer and is planning on pulling with a 145 inch wheel base truck. Everything I have read says that in order to pull this trailer a 150 inch wheel base truck is better. Do you really think a 3-5 inch differance will make that big of a differance?

What is the opinion of the experts here. I pull with a 2500HD with a 159 inch wheel base so I can not really help him other than to say my experiance is great. As always, all opinions are greatly appreciated.

I will probably get negative reactions but I am a retired truck driver and truck repair shop manager and have towed camper trailers from pop tops to my current rig and driven small class C to mid size class A motor homes so I do have a bit of practical experience.

My truck is a 2011 Ram 2500 crew cab short bed, 149 inch wheelbase. Trailer is a 2013 Windjammer 3008W 34'10". I use an Equalizer 4 point weight distribution / anti sway hitch. Trailer scaled weight is 7560 lbs, tongue weight is 11.3% at 860 lbs. I have no problems towing, in fact when we bought the trailer I wound up using cruise control to keep my speed down to 65. The rig was stable and comfortable, passing trucks (either as the passer or the passee) had no effect on the rig at all.

With all that said, amount of experience and expertise has a lot to do with how a rig feels going down the road. Properly set up and driven in a sane fashion I would not hesitate to drive your friend's rig.

Added in edit: In review I was not terribly clear. Properly set up definitely includes not exceeding any weight ratings.

Dave / Believer45

Last edited:
My 2023 RAM 2500 has a 141" wheelbase and I have no qualms about towing a 30-foot TT.