2005 Tiffin Phaeton 40 RH Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bburks

Hello Everyone
Just joined the forum and thinking about buying a 2005 Tiffin Phaeton 40 RH Motorhome.....first of all not sure what the RH stand for if anything? RH= Residential Home maybe?

Next i know Tiffin is known for quality and Bob Tiffin seems to be a saint at the Tampa RV show signing cabinet doors etc..... I hear the units dont have the greatest gas mileage.

Open to hear anything good bad or ugly about my new baby that would help me with my decisions.

Also open for sharing of knowledge about checklist and driving tips etc as I am new to the RV road lifestyle but looking forward to learning all i can as I have health issues and going to retire early and enjoy what life i have left...

Thanks so much and SAFE TRAVELs to all!! :)

Check out our library (link near top of page) for checklists, what newbies should know, and much other good information that may help you.

A Phaeton is a decent rig, but so are Monacos, Newmars and several other brands of the same vintage and size. Tiffin's reputation for service was built in an earlier time when they could afford to make factory appointments for most anyone, and quality is matched by several other brands as well. My understanding is that those appointments are much more limited today, though I expect they still do a good job for those they work on. But a 14 year old rig isn't dependent on factory service, and there are many places which can do a fine job on most any brand.