30amp RV using 20amp Blows GFI

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rubysamm

I read the 50 amp explanation hoping I would find my answer in that, However I have not.? I have a 30 amp plug for my Class C rig that works fine when plugged into 30 amps.? The problem occurs if I plug in with the 20 amp pigtail into a 20amp with GFI.? The GFI Pops everytime every where. If I use a 20 amp service with no GFI i am able to run most everything in the rig without any problem.? I'm not an engineer or electrician, I just want to plug in and enjoy? ;)

You either have some device in your RV that has a fault, or the neutral and ground are tied together.? Disconnect as many 110v devices as you can and if the GFI then does not trip, plug them in one at a time until it does.? If disconnecting all 110v devices doesn't stop the GFI fault, then there is a problem in your RV wiring.? Check the circuit breaker panel and see if the neutral and ground are tied together.? They should not be but it's not uncommon to find an RV wired that way.

Most 30A circuits don't have a GFI so you don't see the problem in those cases.

If you have any doubts about the above procedure, please have an electrician take a look.

I have brought it to the dealer and they said it never tripped there 20 amp circuit breaker.? I explained it won't trip your circuit breaker only your gfi plug will pop out.? (very aggravating when they don't listen to the full concern) Anyway I will try another dealer and provide your description.? When you say Disconnect 110 devices do you mean to simply pull the fuse on those circuits? (i did try that) still popped.? ?Thank you so much for your response I was beginning to think this was "normal operation"? (kind of a pain when you have to run the extension chord in the window for a piece of toast? :D? )