34 foot length restriction

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

beau2x

Newbie here.  Wife and I are planning a year long trip around the country.  We plan to stay in all sorts of campgrounds, and non campgrounds.  I have heard that there can be a length restriction for Class A coaches in the smaller state parks, etc.  Of course the coach my wife likes is a 39 foot National Tradewinds. 

Yes there are a few places that you will not be able to get in to. BUT, in most all cases there will be a nearby commercial park that you can.

I have yet run into a issue at any place I have been to, some places are truly restricted by nature a (some national parks and such) but I have squeezed into a few of them. It was tight but came out unscathed.

If you plan to full time don't let a size restriction make you uncomfortable. Just plan around it!

Thanks Capn, If I read you correctly, make the wife happy, and work around the size?  Is there much difference in the driving of a 39' or 34'?  Beau

I have only a 32' motorhome, but I stay almost entirely in state and national parks.  A 39' vehicle may slightly limit the number of spaces available, but I have seen tons of larger vehicles in state parks.  In fact, many state parks can handle even larger vehicles.

Why not go online and pretend you are making reservations in several state parks and check for yourself?  I think you will be pleasantly surprised. 

Well, I had a 36' gasser and now have a 40' DP. The gasser was ok to drive, the DP is like a dream and much more manuverable.

I would suggest that you go test drive one of each and see for your self. There is no comparison that can explain it. With a DP the quiet is wonderful.

And, I have yet to see any park that will pull out a tape measure to see how long you are.

With just a little practice you can put a DP nearly anywhere you want.

Steve